Opinion

OMG! J Biebs and Selena!: Why Do We Care?

Emily Keyes
Sports Editor

I willingly admit that on my iTunes there are songs by Selena Gomez and Justin Bieber. When “I Love You Like a Love Song” used to come on during swim practice, I am not ashamed to say that I belted it out like the rest of the team.  Bieber’s “Boyfriend” song has been on my workout playlist for at least six months, and his recent single with Nicki Minaj is stupid, but admittedly quite catchy.

Still, I don’t consider myself a big fan of either party, which is why I was surprised when a few weeks ago, as I went about my usual morning routine of brushing my teeth, getting dressed, and checking my phone, my eyes stopped over a particular Twitter update. No, it was not the excited declaration of Obama winning, or a funny quote from Stephen Colbert. Rather, it was a post about the tumultuous split between Selena Gomez and Justin Bieber. I found myself clicking the link, leading me to an article detailing the situation surrounding the breakup of the famous tween couple.  I read the article in its entirety.

Justin Bieber extends his hand in search of his next girlfriend. (Photo: Google Images).

Justin Bieber extends his hand in search of his next
girlfriend. (Photo: Google Images).

Why do we, as a society, find the lives of celebrities, such as Justin Bieber and Selena Gomez, so fascinating?  Was this important enough to waste multiple precious minutes of my morning?

The two are neither intelligent nor extremely talented, and cannot be said to be any sort of role model for our generation. Anyone who sings the lyrics ”Chillin’ by the fire while we eatin’ fondue” as Bieber does in “Boyfriend” is someone who begs not to be taken seriously.  Yet, I found the breakup interesting.

Being the moderately nerdy person that I am, I investigated the relationship. Though I had assumed everyone was overreacting about a breakup of a couple that was together for a few months at most, it turned out that Selena and the Biebs were together for two years, which, if you ask me, is a long time to deal with the antics of the paparazzi that seem to follow the two of them around.

At 18 and 20, Justin and Selena are still babies when compared to most of the people in their line of work.  They have their entire lives to be involved in celebrity relationships which, from the decent amount of shameful People and US Weekly reading I have done in my life, I know requires dodging the paparazzi, planning secret getaways, and formulating the perfectly democratic quotes to tell the media to back the f*** off about the details of their partnership.

Your late teens and early adulthood is the time to be selfish and do things for yourself; going out with your friends, staying up ‘til dawn, and not worrying about having to text or call your significant other to let them know where you are, how much you love them, and when you’ll be home. It is common knowledge in college that relationships fall by the wayside when schoolwork, jobs, and extracurricular activities pile up, so I can only imagine that being an international superstar would make juggling a relationship even harder.

Break-ups like this are always strenuous though, not just for the parties involved, but also for those that follow and idolize them. Typing in “Justin Bieber Selena Gomez breakup” into Google search brought up countless blog posts from tweens crying over how sad the split is, how they were perfect for each other, and how there is still hope of rekindling the romance, and reliving it through countless movies, single debuts, and TV recordings that boy partook in.

Fans of these artists get emotionally involved in these relationships, so much so that breakups between these couples become almost as emotionally heart-breaking as a real break-up; I know I personally would be extremely upset if Prince William and Princess Kate, my favorite celebrity couple, ever broke up.

Sometimes these things have an expiration date though, much like that old container of Chobani yogurt you got at Alice’s last month. Sure, Selena and Justin were cute, but they will have other beaus and hoes we can obsess and gossip over. Isn’t that what pop culture is about anyway?

We put our own romantic hopes into these partnerships, hoping that if Selena and the Biebs can make it work despite their hectic schedules and relative emotional immaturity, perhaps there is hope out there for the rest of us.

 

Comments

