Opinion

Scoop’s Corner: The registration woes

Samantha Cooper
Staff Writer

It’s strange to think that I am officially registered for my second semester of college. And let me say one thing – the

MyGoucher registration page. (Photo: Screen grab from MyGoucher)

MyGoucher registration page. (Photo: Screen grab from MyGoucher)

registration process is brutal. I had a whole list of classes I wanted to take. They were all at good times and fulfilled several LERs, which meant that I would only have three or four more left to fulfill including studying abroad. That meant I could spend the rest of my time at Goucher focusing on my major and perhaps even a second major or a minor.
I was wrong. I was so wrong. I wasn’t prepared to register for classes at 9 p.m., when literally every single class I wanted was full. Cue a complete and utter breakdown that necessitated calling my mom THREE times during the night.  I was so stressed that after I finally created a schedule, I went back to my dorm, collapsed on my bed, and tried to sleep.
I did manage to re-arrange my schedule and get into classes that I liked. They are not necessarily at the times I wanted, and one class that fit into my schedule ended up there randomly – I had the pre-requisite for and it brought me up to sixteen credits, but it was not originally on my list. I’m a little nervous about it, since it’s a 200-level class and I don’t know if I can handle the workload of that yet. Thankfully, since my planned course-load is 16 credits, I can drop it if I get really desperate.
I understand that the registration process, which assigns timeslots by credits, makes sense. What junior wants to be knocked out of a class they need for their major because some snot-nosed, over-enthusiastic freshman decided they wanted to “try it out” because they have no idea what they want to do? Nobody. Maybe I just feel this way because I am a freshman and I feel cheated. I had classes I wanted to take and was interested in. They all filled L.E.R.s, and I was ready to go. I wasn’t somebody just testing the waters, taking an intro-class because I wasn’t sure. I was taking the classes because I had a plan. I was going to take as many LERs as I could so I could focus on my major (I haven’t declared yet but I’m planning to major in Communications, go to Columbia and earn a Masters in joursnalism then go to work for the New York Times and earn a Pulitzer by age 30) and possibly choose if I wanted to add a major or a minor (most likely history). Of course I still have time to do that but don’t you understand … I HAVE A PLAN. A CAREFULLY MAPPED OUT, 20-YEAR PLAN WITH NO ROOM FOR CHANGE.
Kidding.
I have a plan, but nothing elaborate. I don’t even know how long it will last. For heaven’s sake, I’m eighteen; my brain doesn’t stop developing for another seven years. I still don’t know how to drive a car or exactly what anti-disestablishmentarianism means. How am I supposed to decide what I want to do with the rest of my life when I can’t even pick five lousy classes without having a break down?
Maybe I expect too much out of myself. But at this moment, all I want to do is relax, watch something on Netflix and then go to bed. Registration was exhausting, and I have a ton of work to do this weekend. All I want is some quiet time in my dorm room with me and my laptop (which I just decided will be called Tom). After that, I will go to sleep so I can wake up at decent time to shower and dress before going to the Ath for an all-day homework session. So really, nothing is out of the ordinary for me.

Comments

