Opinion

Scoop’s Corner: Semester’s end

Samantha Cooper
Staff Writer

Wait a minute…this is it? My first semester of college is over? How did this happen? Where did the time go? I’m not ready to be a second-semester freshman! That means I’ll be one step closer to becoming a sophomore and having to pick a major. Then I’ll have to go abroad. Then I’ll become a senior and have to graduate and enter the real world and get a job and an apartment. Then eventually, I’ll have to get a boyfriend and get married and have kids and then they’ll go off to college! I’m just not ready for any of that yet. I can barely make a bowl of macaroni and cheese on my own. Can’t I just stay a freshman? I like it now that I have a schedule and I don’t get lost. I have people who I socialize with on a semi-regular basis.  I’m over the “Which way is Van Meter…How the heck do I get to Hoffberger…What do you mean Alice’s closes at five o’clock…How do I handle all this work” stage (Okay, maybe not the last one, but you get my point). Time has flown by and I just don’t know where it has gone. It’s scary.
I haven’t gone to a party or on a midnight fast food run. I haven’t seen a movie or read a book for fun all semester.  I don’t think I’ve done anything most “normal” college students do. I mean, I’ve eaten a ton of junk food, procrastinated on my work, forgotten to do one or two readings, but I haven’t done any of the wild things. So far my best college story is “The Time I Went to the Supreme Court.” It sounds like the title of a third grader’s “what I did over vacation” essay. As far as parties go, though, it’s not like I truly want to go to one. I actually hate parties – too much noise and too many people in too small of a space. But I would like to have one good story from freshman year. My dad had at least two (“Getting a Date on the First Class of the First Day with Help from the Professor” and “Getting Kicked Out of My Dorm Room by my Druggie Roommates”), and they’re both pretty good.
Isn’t college supposed to be the time to explore new things and form a new identity without any judgment whatsoever, or have I just watched a few too many movies? I don’t want to leave college without gaining any sort of new knowledge about myself, my abilities, my likes, and my dislikes. I haven’t found anything like that yet – maybe because it’s still only freshman year. But if my first semester went by this fast, how quickly will the others pass? How long will it be before I’m sitting on an uncomfortable metal chair in a cap and gown with the sun in my eyes waiting for the moment when my name is called so I can walk across the stage and receive the piece of paper that I worked so hard to earn so that I can get a job and hopefully make some sort of difference or mark in this world we live in?
Maybe that’s a better question to ask when the school year ends rather than just the semester. A semester ending isn’t sad. Especially when it’s fall semester, because all it means is there are five weeks of rest, relaxation and TV shows and movies to catch up on (like “How I Met Your Mother” or “Thor 2: The Dark World”). I’m really looking forward to relaxing, seeing my friends, finally emailing or seeing my high school teachers, eating Chinese food on Christmas, and hopefully taking a trip somewhere.
I have to say, though, I’ve enjoyed my first semester here at Goucher. Yes, it’s been hard work and sometimes I’m tired of the food. There’s always something but I have to say, I think I made the right choice. People here are friendly, open-minded, geeky, nerdy, funny, helpful, and I really like my professors. I’m happy here. So my fellow Gophers, have an awesome vacation, don’t do any homework, have fun, drink a little eggnog, sing a few non-denominational winter songs, eat a lot of food, see your friends, go to the movies, read a book for fun, spend a whole day on Tumblr or Fanfiction.net, bake some cookies, see your family, do whatever makes you happy, and I will see you next year!

Comments

