Sports

Sharnell Huff scores 1,000 career points

June Chiango
Staff Writer

When something happens for the first time in thirteen years, there is reason to celebrate. Sharnell Huff, a senior on the women’s

Sharnell Huff poses for a picture infront in the main gym (Photo: Christoher Riley)

Sharnell Huff poses for a picture in front in the main gym (Photo: Christoher Riley)

basketball team, is celebrating 1,000 points scored in her career. The last time a Gopher achieved such a record was in 2001. It’s obvious that Huff has an inner passion for basketball. She commented, “Just the intensity of the game and competing is what I love.”
However, Huff has done much more than reach 1,000 points. Scoring a whopping 36 points against Catholic the first week of February, she finished the game shooting 13 of 24 from the field, including a career-high seven 3-pointers. No other player has scored as many points in the conference all season. Both of these amazing achievements made Huff the Landmark Conference Women’s Basketball Player of the Week for Jan. 27 to Feb. 2.
But how did she get there? Huff explains, “What has gotten me to this achievement is dedication, hard work and practice. I have never achieved 1,000 points in high school or even during AAU (Amateur Athletic Union) seasons. I have been playing since I was eight years old, so it’s nice to finally have my moment to shine.”
D3hoops.com recognized Huff on the honor roll among the nation’s top Division III women’s basketball players at each of the five positions from the previous week. Her average of 31.5 points and 6.5 rebounds in two games for the Gophers led her to the prestigious honor. On how it feels to gain such an honor, Sharnell said, “I have been under the radar for so long, so it feels good to get some recognition for something I love to do.”
Huff did not get to where she is today alone. Emphasizing the importance of the people in her life that have kept her focused and supported, she said, “My family has made a huge difference for me. My parents have never missed any of my games no matter where it is or [how bad] the weather. My sister’s support also really helps me.” Huff also wanted to thank all of her teammates for their support and for being great friends.
You can see how much basketball means to Huff, especially in her success during her last season as a Gopher. She is thankful for the experience she has had as a student athlete and wants to go out on a high note: “I have accomplished a lot in my senior year and with five games left, I plan to keep playing hard and going out on a good note.”

Comments

