Global

Postcards from Berlin: From slump to motivation

Ruby Tucker
Staff Writer

“Feel great, act great, and be great” According to the vanilla hazelnut yogi tea bag my mom sent me from an LA Whole Foods to my flat in Berlin, it is apparently time for me to feel great! It is about 8:30 p.m. on a Tuesday evening and I am suddenly inspired to clean my room, do laundry, clean the bathroom, make a rare cup of tea, and mash up a banana, lemon and honey facial. Believe me this is no ordinary night in the Ruby Tucker residence. I’m lucky enough to have any motivation to do my homework, let alone get to work on my household responsibilities. Nevertheless, I found this hanging little tea bag square ironically inspirational, as I find most yogi tea bag messages. They are so simple, sometimes dumb, and often a little funny. There is something about them that is just so obviously odd. However, being the sentimental and introspective person that I am, I find this little quote applicable to my current life. It is so easy to fall into the daily routine of life stress – or at least college stress. With midterms approaching, papers due, travel plans to be made, and anxiety over how I’m spending my remaining time in Berlin, I find that lately I have fallen into a tiny slump. The past few weekdays have consisted of me rushing through class after class just so I can get home to relax, watch Netflix, and sleep. The cold weather and sleepless weekend nights have made it easy for me to fall into this routine. However great this ideal college set up of class, sleep, and Netflix is, it doesn’t make me feel that great. Even though the moment of pure bliss lying in my bed all cozy is definite perfection, I realized that soon after that moment fades, I am left with pages of procrastinated reading and an uneventful life. Although it might have taken a cup of yogi tea to reignite my motivation, at least it is something. From now on I promise in writing to “Transcend my Boundaries.”

Until next time- Ruby

Comments

