Opinion

Scoop’s Corner: Summer plans prove daunting

Samantha Cooper
News Editor

When did you declare your major? When did you get your first internship? Did you ever change your major? How many times? Why did you change your major? Was it difficult? I know these questions are something we all ask at one point or another. I’m thinking about declaring and I’m really unsure as to whether I should do it now or if I should wait. I already know what I want to major in – communications with a journalism emphasis. But I don’t know if I want to double major or major and minor in something else. And of course, the question is: In what? In my mind I’ve already considered English, history, and anthropology. I’ve only taken one class in each, except for English because of the writing proficiency requirement, so it’s a tough decision.
I’m also planning on getting an internship this summer. I have no idea where. I created a resume, and I can write a pretty decent cover letter. But I’ve never had a job before. My summers have always been busy with camps, journalism classes, Japanese classes, and a trip to Japan. This summer, I want to do something that will help my career – so all of my free time as of late has been spent on internship websites. Was it this exhausting for all of you? When did you start looking? How long did it take you to get one? Did you use the Career Development Office? I used them to help with my resume and cover letter. But are they helpful for actually finding a job?
It’s also quite difficult to balance classes with looking for internships. Where does the time go? How did it go from winter break to mid-semester exams in what feels like a week and a half? Before I know it, it’s going to be the end of the semester, and I’ll be prepping for exams and saying good-bye to all the seniors I’ve met. I’ll be planning for study abroad and registering for classes. I’m not ready to be a sophomore! Next year, a new batch of freshmen will be coming in, trying to figure out how to get to Hoffberger and where to eat good burgers. I still haven’t completely figured out how to get around campus yet. I haven’t gone to any dances, I can count the number of times I’ve been to the Gopher Hole on one hand, and I’ve spent most of my time doing homework, writing newspaper articles, ordering take-out, and watching Netflix. (I’ve gotten through about 3 seasons of “30 Rock” in three weeks. I also finally saw “Blackfish” and “Bully.”) Apparently I can get much more work done if I’m NOT working until 1 a.m. during the week. I only work until five or six on the weekends, and then I order take-out, watch Netflix and maybe do one or two small pieces of work, such as writing this. It’s much more relaxing than dragging myself to bed from the library after midnight and falling asleep in my clothes. (Not a good idea. Not comfy, at all. Also, it’s really hard to get motivated to dress when you’re already in clothes.) I think I’m finally starting to get the hang of this college thing … but I’ll leave this week’s column with a final question: How long did it take you to get this college thing? Is there even some magical trick?

Comments

