Opinion

Scoop’s Corner: The common cold is getting old

Samantha Cooper
News Editor

Well it happened: I finally got sick. I’m not sure what it was, but the Tuesday after spring break, my throat hurt, I was exhausted, and I had a stuffy nose and headache. By Wednesday, I was coughing my lungs out. Thursday, I left one of my classes early because I wasn’t feeling well. I probably should have rested more during the weekend, but I had a ton of homework and a supply of Advil so nothing was going to stop me except pure and utter exhaustion.
Here’s the funny thing: when I was younger, I’d occasionally fake being sick to get out of school. Now, even when I feel like I’m about to die, I go to class because I know I can’t afford to miss anything. It’s probably one of my most unhealthy behaviors (besides my ability to eat an entire pizza in one sitting). There needs to be a better way to go about it. I may get other people sick, and there’s no way I’m going to pay as much attention as I normally do. Plus, the last thing I wanted to do after going to class exhausted and sick was to do homework while exhausted and sick.
I have no idea how many bugs are going around, but I think there are several people in my dorm who are sick with various illnesses. One of my professors has been sick since February. But what really annoys me is that I’m never sure if I’m sick enough to skip class or not because I didn’t have a fever. And the weather over the weekend definitely did not help. I thought it was warm out, so both days I was in capris and T-shirts (I did wear a jacket but it didn’t help much considering it was snowing/raining out). But in my defense, I didn’t have any clean cold-weather clothing. I do my laundry on Sundays, and I had exchanged half of my winter gear for spring clothes over break. Again, it may be stupid, but it’s April!
What is up this weather? It should be warm and sunny. When it rains, it should be a warm rain – not an “it’s only raining because it’s too warm to snow” rain. It’s spring now! It’s supposed to  be nice out, with sun and green trees and flowers. It should not look like Elsa got angry and decided to set off an eternal winter again.
Hopefully, this cold/virus/illness/Black Plague thing will go away soon. I have classes, exams, homework, essays, registration, a major to declare, a class at another college to get permission to take, and an editor’s position to fill. I do not have time to be sick. No college student has time to be sick. Nobody college-aged or older has the time to get sick. And when we do get sick, it’s not fun. In elementary school, when you get sick you get ginger ale and soup, you watch cartoons all day and sleep. You don’t get to do that in college. You have to email people, go to the Health Center, figure out what you’re missing, get people to take notes, and you still have to get your work in. It’s not fun any more.
Getting sick sucks. But I think growing up may suck a little bit more.

Comments

