OP/ED

Republicans take over Congress: a student’s opinion

Tori Russell

Chief Copy Editor

It is time for a change in Congress and this past Tuesday, November 4, that is exactly what we got: Republican control of both the House and the Senate. Election Day is my favorite day of the year. It feels like Christmas to me. It symbolizes change, and in the case of this year’s elections, an exciting change for me. Those who know me know that I have my first ever “I voted” sticker taped onto my computer: a sign of just how much I love elections. I’m in the American Political Behavior class with Dr. Mileah Kromer right now. We were closely following the governor’s race here in Maryland, watching commercials and analyzing the data from the Goucher Poll. One month before voting day, 32% of residents had a favorable opinion of Democratic gubernatorial candidate Anthony Brown, whereas 28% of residents had a favorable opinion of Republican candidate Larry Hogan. These results were so surprisingly close that nobody knew where this election was going to end up. In the end, Hogan pulled a stunning upset in Maryland, winning with 51% of the vote. In the bluest of blue states, where there are two Democrats to every one Republican, Hogan pulled out a win. What does this say about President Obama and the shape of our country? This says that people are ready for a change. At Goucher, it’s pretty difficult to find anyone remotely conservative. I mean, we have a radical leftist club. I’d say that pretty accurately reflects our campus. I’m used to hearing about Keystone pipeline protests at the White House or being asked to sign some petition while walking down Van Meter highway. This campus isn’t used to having someone more conservative publicly voice their opinions and say that Obamacare is a waste of money or that we should close the borders and not give legal status to illegal immigrants. Very few Democrats running for election even touched upon the new healthcare laws, afraid that because the general consensus about the new laws is so negative, that it would cost them the campaign. People are not happy with the way President Obama is getting things done (or not) in this country and this midterm is a direct reflection upon that. Why else would Maryland vote for a Republican governor? They would vote for Hogan because the O’Malley administration was such a complete failure. Forty new tax hikes, including a rain tax, as well as abysmal job growth to the point where major companies are fleeing the state. The state is in some serious trouble after adopting these policies and Marylanders showed that in their vote. In my class, only two people came close to predicting the outcome of the Maryland gubernatorial race (including myself). I was cautiously optimistic and I’m glad I was right. It is time to see what the Republicans can do to in Congress.

Categories: OP/ED, Opinion

Tagged as:

Comments

