OP/ED

Scoop’s Corner: The end of the semester

Samantha Cooper

News Editor

It’s so close to the end of the semester and by the time this issue comes out, the only thing left will be final exams. I only have two this semester and I’m not particularly worried about either of them. I do also have an essay and a final portfolio, and while I’m a little nervous about the latter, there’s not a lot I can about it. As such, I don’t have a lot to do at the moment. And the things I do have to do, I have no motivation for at all.
It’s weird. I tend to be less productive when I have less work because it’s easier to ignore and I keep thinking about all the time I have. When I have a lot of work, it’s easier to get it done because I know I have to do it. It’s also easier to create a schedule when there are actually things to do.
It’s the reason why I try to create the busiest schedule as I can every semester, though it doesn’t always work out. I dropped a class this semester that had a pretty heavy workload, which has changed my schedule a lot. But I know that if I didn’t, I’d probably be complaining about the amount of work I had from that class. And I know that I got lucky by not having many writing intensive courses this semester. But I know that I have a busy spring semester coming up.
Right now, my schedule consists of one class on Mondays and Fridays, four classes on Tuesdays, none on Wednesdays and three on Thursdays, which is ridiculous. But my only other choice is moving one of the Tuesday/Thursday classes to Monday and Wednesdays, but the class wouldn’t be until 7pm. I hate night classes. And I’m not sure if it’s worth changing my schedule in order to make my Tuesdays easier.
But I’m not really in the mood to think about that at the moment. I’m not in the mood to think about anything. I’m just ready for it to be winter break, so I can go home, lounge about on the couch, catch up on my shows, hang out with my friends and just figure some stuff out. Nothing major, but I find vacations are very good times to try to figure life out and in this way my existential crises don’t get in the way of my school work.
On that note, good luck on exams and may the odds be ever in your favor. Also happy holidays and see you next semester.

Categories: OP/ED

Tagged as:

Comments

