Opinion

What is going on with Alice’s?

Nashalia Ferrara
Features Editor

alices 1

The prices at Alice’s have dramatically increased. Is it really worth it? Photo by Anna Martin.

My favorite thing to get at Alice’s is a slice of that delicious flourless cake and a medium latte with a shot of vanilla. Would you believe me if I told you that I spend more than a meal swipe on just those two things? Specifically, it costs me $8.09.
It’s insane. A meal swipe should be able to fill up a college student. A meal swipe equals a plate of stir fry at Heubeck or “all you can eat” at Stimson. At the end of my snack (that’s exactly what it is—a snack), I am jittery and full of short term energy from the mixture of caffeine and sugar consumption, but I am not full. It’s a shame. We just finished the first month, and I’m already down to 88 meal swipes and 136 dining dollars because of the number of snacks or small grab and go breakfasts that exceed $7.
Now, I am not complaining about the quality. For the most part, Alice’s is pretty good. I especially like their new pizza bagels and the variety of yogurts. But, it’s no Café du Monde; it’s just a small college campus coffee shop.
That brings me to my second complaint. What happened to Alice’s hours? For first year students who haven’t already heard, Alice’s used to be open until 2 a.m. every day of the week. It was simply beautiful and perfect. It’s basically a fact that college students thrive on coffee and junk food. Those are the things that some of us choose to get through our long nights in the Ath. We like to shove our faces with potato chips while chugging coffee when finishing our papers due within the next 24 hours. With that being said, we need them accessible all the time, or at least for as long as possible. So far, I have managed with the new hours by ordering a pizza to fill in the short gap between closing time and bedtime. But, honestly, I am scared for finals week. I don’t know what’s going to happen when my last dosage of caffeine is at 12 a.m. and I am pulling an all nighter. Who is going to save me? Who is going to keep me up, Alice?
Everyone who knows me knows that I love to complain. My mom used to say that with every complaint, I had to share a positive too. So, what are my positives to go along with my complaints of Alice’s posh prices and horrible hours? The new chapstick. By the register, between the pizza bagel display and the cashier there is a glass case of retail items. In that case are four different flavors of organic and fair trade Mongo Kiss chapsticks. I chose the peppermint one for only $2.99 (cheaper than a latte). It’s a great buttery formula and a great addition to the campus. Also, you can buy it with your dining dollars! How convenient is that? My second positive is the chocolate cake, of course. It’s divine.

Categories: Opinion

Comments

