Arts and Entertainment

Going back to Stars Hollow: Reviving “Gilmore Girls”

Jasmine Hubara

Staff Writer

I was only four years old when “Gilmore Girls” first aired, so by the time I started watching the show in 2009, Lorelai and Rory Gilmore already had a place in the heart of every teenage girl (and her mom). My family was no exception. Every Saturday night was spent together watching the show on DVD: my mom, my younger sister and even my little brother. When we heard that the famous mother/daughter duo was coming back, we knew that it was going to be another marathon night for our family.
While I was home last weekend, I sat down with my mom for breakfast in the closest thing our small town has to a Luke’s Diner. After going over some of our favorite memories from the show, we started talking about the reboot. While the new four 90-minute episodes haven’t “officially” been approved, they are in the works, which is enough for us. I know my mom is excited, especially because of the show’s ability to turn every choice a Gilmore makes into a life lesson.
“What I love about the show,” she said, “is that they’re not all trashy girls and they’re not all squeaky clean girls—they’re real girls with real-life situations.”
I know that I learned a lot from the Gilmore girls when I was young. The most important thing I took away from the show was that you have to make the choices that are best for you, not other people—like the series finale, with Rory turning down Logan’s marriage proposal to work for Obama.
My mom thinks differently. “It’s the open communication between Rory and Lorelai, even when they didn’t agree with each other’s choices,” she pointed out. But I know that she sees where I’m coming from, since she’d like to see Rory working as a boss instead of for someone else.
When I asked her what else she’d like to see from the show, her answer was immediate. “I don’t have a lot of expectations, but it would be nice for Rory to have her birthday and have Lorelai get in bed with her and tell the story of her birth again… and it would be great if Paris would come back, but she’s very involved in a murder case,” she said. Liza Weil, who played Paris on “Gilmore Girls,” currently stars on ABC’s “How To Get Away With Murder.”
If you haven’t seen the iconic 2000s show, I would recommend cancelling your plans for the weekend and devoting yourself to the cult classic. It might just change your life.

Comments

